Eligible higher education institutions (HEIs) and research-performing organisations (RPOs)



The current policy of the Irish Research Council is that in order to be considered an eligible higher education institution for the purpose of applying to our funding programmes (at postgraduate, postdoctoral and principal investigator level) an institution must be:

  1. A third-level institution within the meaning of Section One of the Higher Education Authority Act, 1971 and/or in receipt of public funding as approved by the Department of Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science for the purposes of the Free Fees Initiative.
  2. In receipt of public funding from the Department of Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science for the purpose of higher education and research.
  3. In compliance with the HEA Statement on Athena SWAN Charter in Ireland (July 2019).

These institutions are:

  • Coláiste Mhuire Marino
  • Dublin City University
  • Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies
  • Dublin Dental Hospital
  • Dundalk Institute of Technology
  • Dún Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design & Technology
  • Galway–Mayo Institute of Technology
  • Institute of Technology, Carlow
  • Institute of Technology, Sligo
  • Letterkenny Institute of Technology
  • Mary Immaculate College
  • Maynooth University
  • Munster Technological University
  • National College of Ireland
  • National University of Ireland, Galway
  • RCSI University of Medicine and Health Sciences
  • Royal Irish Academy
  • Royal Irish Academy of Music
  • Technological University Dublin
  • Technological University of the Shannon: Midlands Midwest
  • University College Cork
  • University College Dublin
  • University of Dublin, Trinity College
  • University of Limerick
  • Waterford Institute of Technology

In recognition of the contribution of publicly funded research performers to Ireland’s research base, the research-performing organisations (RPOs) which are eligible to apply to the Irish Research Council’s postdoctoral and principal investigator-led funding programmes are:

  • Economic & Social Research Institute
  • Marine Institute
  • Teagasc
  • The Discovery Programme

Further information in relation to applying to be an eligible research-performing organisation is available here.

Data Protection Notice

Please read our updated Data Protection Notice.

Our use of cookies

We use necessary cookies to make our site work. We'd also like to set optional analytics cookies to help us improve it. We won't set these optional cookies unless you enable them. Using this tool will set a cookie on your device to remember your preferences.

For more detailed information about the cookies we use, see our Privacy Policy page

Necessary cookies

Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics cookies

We'd like to set Google Analytics cookies to help us to improve our website by collecting and reporting information on how you use it. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify anyone.